One of Dublin’s most iconic pubs, The Hill, has reopened its doors once more following extensive renovations.
The building itself, which originally opened for business in 1845, has been a longstanding part of the Ranelagh and Dublin 6 community with a number of proprietors all having put their stamp on this bar and one time grocers.
The new owners have breathed new life into the building inside and out. Having retained a lot of its original character, patrons will find original gold mirrored plating above the bar with one of the previous owners’ names etched into its design. There’s also some original brass and wood fittings dotted throughout the space, with a snug at the front of the bar.
The team is looking forward to welcoming locals and surrounding neighbours back into The Hill: “We want to make the bar a focal point of the community where you can drop in for a coffee during the day or enjoy a post work pint or cocktail with friends, colleagues and family. Our aim is to provide top quality service alongside great food and interesting drinks in a welcoming atmosphere.”
The food offering has been created by chef and previous owner Derek Marsden (Brickyard, The Box Tree UK). From the a classic reuben with sliced pastrami, to the gochujang chicken & cheese with pulled gochujang chicken, diners can expect big, bold flavours coming out of the kitchen. Food service will commence in the coming weeks.
The cocktail list will take seven classics and twist them into something new. The Kennedy’s Call is a smoked Old Fashioned made using Jameson Black Barrel whiskey. Alongside the cocktail menu will be beers and stouts on draft, a rotating craft beer selection, a selection of gins and whiskies as well as wines.