Burger King’s Rebel Whopper, recently launched in Ireland, is not suitable for vegetarians or vegans despite being made entirely from plant and plant-derived ingredients.
The problem stems from the way in which the burger is cooked. As the small print for the product notes: “The Rebel Whopper is plant-based; however, it is cooked on the same broiler as our original Whopper to deliver the same unique flame-grilled taste. Due to shared cooking equipment it may not be suitable for vegetarians”.
That is to say, the burger is cooked on the same grill as the meat burgers, making the Rebel Whopper unsuitable for vegetarians or vegans.
Burger King maintains that the burger is actually aimed at ‘flexitarians’, i.e. people who eat meat but are cutting down on the amount they consume.
The meat free burger patty is made by The Vegetarian Butcher, a Unilever owned company, and is comprised primarily of soy, wheat, vegetable oil, herbs, and onion.
Conversely, Burger King’s veggie bean burger and kids veggie burger are vegetarian friendly.